Judge Withheld Evidence: Innocent Man Sent to Prison for Murder he did not Commit


This is a very chilling story about a judge, Judge Ken Anderson from Texas, who, as a district attorney in 1986, prosecuted an innocent man for the murder of his wife. He purposely withheld critical evidence  that would have proved Michael Morton‘s innocence. Instead, Michael Morton was sent to prison for a murder he did not commit. There is now going to be an “inquiry” into Judge Ken Anderson’s role for “prosecutorial misconduct.” 

Will he be convicted of wrongdoing?  

In a nine-hour deposition, Anderson said he could not remember details of the prosecution. If he had known of information that pointed to Morton’s innocence, he insisted, he would have told defense lawyers.

“He has apologized not only to Mr. Morton but to all persons who have been affected by this, which clearly includes Mr. Morton’s son, Eric,” Nichols said.

In my opinion, Judge Ken Anderson should be sent to prison for what he did to an innocent man and his family. What do you think? Click on the link below to read the full story… 

Errors in Judgment

It had been 14 years since their last meeting. Father and son sat uncomfortably last fall in the well-appointed home of the Houston lawyer who helped free Eric Olson’s father from prison.

The only clothes Eric remembered seeing his dad wear before were prison whites. Now, he noticed, his dad was dressed just like him: blue jeans, a button-down shirt, even similar shoes.

How should he feel about meeting the man who he had believed savagely killed his mother and felt no remorse? At age 28, with his pregnant wife at his side, Eric saw his father Michael Morton  as an innocent man for the first time. Was this really happening, he wondered. It felt like a movie.

“I don’t know if I should feel tears of joy or laughter. I remember mostly being kind of numb the whole night, mostly sitting there, listening, just waiting for … I don’t know. Waiting for everything to make sense again,” Eric recalled. “Only months before that, we were still supposed to hate him.”

Eric was 3 years old and had recently recovered from open heart surgery on Aug. 13, 1986, when his mother, Christine Morton, was beaten to death in her bed in their North Austin home. Six weeks after her death, police arrested Morton, pulling his sobbing toddler from his arms as they led him to a police cruiser. Six months after losing his mother, Eric lost his father, too, when a Williamson County jury convicted Morton of murder and sent him to prison for life.

About Diane Wilson

Guardianship must be abolished. This draconian law strips human beings of their civil and humanitarian rights. It is used as a method to dispose of the elderly and disabled, steal their estates, and isolate them from their loved ones.

Posted on July 25, 2012, in Lawless America and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You can certainly see your expertise in the article you write.
    The sector hopes for even more passionate writers like you
    who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  2. I remember Ken Anderson. I was pulled over in Williamson county once. They arrested me and my passenger because my passenger had a small amount of drugs on her that I did not know about. Ken anderson suggested that I plead guilty for a 17 year sentence because I had a previous conviction from 14 years before. He tried to talk me into signing off for 17 years before the case was presented to the grand jury. He actually said I would be out in two years because of the way TDCJ worked. I told him I would wait for the grand jury decision. He was not pleased. He threatened to convict me and give me 35 years. The grand jury refused to indict me because the passenger admitted that I had no knowlege of the drugs she had. If I had listened to Ken Anderson I would have spent a long time in prison. This man lied to me and tried to talk me into agreeing to go to prison for nothing. How many other lives has he ruined in pursuit of his petty little career? Ken Anderson needs to go to jail. He has abused his position of power and sent lots of innocent people to jail just so he could climn his career ladder. He is the worst kind of criminal possible. He needs to face justice for his actions.

  3. Truly a travesty of justice. Anderson ought to be locked up, but we know that won’t happen.

Leave a Reply

